The Village of Sussex was incorporated in 1924 from the hamlets (towns) of Sussex (1842, some say 1837) and Templeton (1886). The Village is generally small town in nature, but there are some subdivisions and a unique 221-acre industrial park.
Compiled and Edited by Michael R. Reilly
Last Revised 10/24/2005
Sussex - a post-village in Lisbon township, Waukesha county, Wisconsin, 16 miles N. W. from Milwaukee. It contains 1 wagon shop, 1 saw mill, l school house, and an Episcopal church. Population, 100. Source: 1854 U.S. Gazetteer, p.1128
The population of Sussex is approximately 5039.
The amount of land area in Sussex is 10.104 sq. kilometers.
*Area Code for the Village is 262.
Sussex in 1864
South of Main St. (left to right): C. Cooling, J. Pettard, R. Russell, T. Campbell (Wagon & Blacksmith shops), J. Hickmot with R. Weaver (dealer in New York and Wisconsin hops) store and J. Brown in front, J. Andrews with C. Cooling (blacksmith and carriage factory) and R. Cooling (store and P.O.) in front, J. & C. Russell, W. Weaver, A. Davidson, J. E. Brown (carpenter and joiner).
North of Main St. (left to right): E. Champeney, parsonage, Town lot, R. Weaver, store, Jno. Reeve, C. E. Craven, Jas. Elliott, Episcopal Church (St. Alban's), E. Boots, H. Boots, E. Boots, Jr. brewery, saloon, R. Cooling, J. Russell, W. Medhurst, Jas. Weaver, J. Russell, J. Stone, school.