Sussex-Lisbon Area Historical Society, Inc.

Search this site and our local communities. Wisconsin History Search Only

You may now join, or renew your SLAHS membership using your PayPal account, credit, or debit card.

Please use the following link to make a secure on-line payment.

About Us
Search this site
Monetary Donations

Artifact Donations

Buy A Brick Donation

Fundraiser Letter

Notable Links
Index to Wisconsin Brewery and Related Articles


Land O' Lakes Baseball History

Nelson, other locals honored at LOL gala

The Land O' Lakes Western Division held its annual banquet on Saturday at Hartbrook Lanes.

Awards were handed out for top players, managers, umpires and fans. The league's Most Valuable Player was Luke Nelson, who was also voted the top pitcher in the LOL Western Division. Nelson compiled a 9-1 record on the hill for Oconomowoc.

Tim Mertins of Hartland won the batting title. The former Beloit College standout hit .508 this season and also brought home his team's MVP award.

Seth Kroenke of Sussex led the league in home runs with nine. Kroenke, who starred at Hamilton High School before playing baseball at Carroll College, also won the Cardinals team MVP.

Pat Smith of Monches was the manager of the year. Zach Kozlowski of Lannon won the Rookie of the Year. Mark Fiala of Lannon was given the Commissioner's Award, and John Klebesadel of Menomonee Falls was awarded the Lloyd Dieball Umpires Meritorious Service Award.

Other team MVPs were Ken Poniewaz and Jeff Lemmermann (Brookfield Blue Sox), Greg Basthemer and Kris Franzen (Brookfield Bulldogs), Dean Haase and Kozlowski (Lannon), Jeff Lueck (Menomonee Falls), Kaiton Yawney (Merton), Bryan Kieffer (Monches), Ryan Gunderson (North Lake), Rob Brockel (Pewaukee) and Mike Mueller (West Bend).

Fan appreciateion awards went to Bill and Marjorie Fox, Gerald and Pam Rutz, Mike "Chief" McMillen, the Meyers brothers, Mark and Jean Erd, George Toth, Tiffany Caldwell, Rollie McCrackin, Terry Stapleton, Cheri and Randy Lueck, Mary Wichser, Kurt Obermayr, Kristin Bubolz and Tom Fischer.

Tom Schuldt of Sussex was named scorekeeper of the year by Commissioner Paul Vanden Heuvel. Members of the 2009 LOL Grand Champion Lannon Stonemen, coached by Bruce Mayer, were also recognized.


Home / About Us  / Membership / Search this site

Copyright Sussex-Lisbon Area Historical Society, Inc., , 2002 - 2016, Except as noted: All documents placed on the website remain the property of the contributors, who retain publication rights in accordance with US Copyright Laws and Regulations. In keeping with our policy of providing free information on the Internet, these documents may be used by anyone for their personal research. They may be used by non-commercial entities, when written permission is obtained from the contributor, so long as all notices and submitter information are included. These electronic pages may NOT be reproduced in any format for profit. Any other use, including copying files to other sites, requires permission from the contributors PRIOR to uploading to the other sites. The submitter has given permission to the website to store the file(s) for free access. Such permission may be revoked upon written notice to the website webmaster. Website's design, hosting, and maintenance are donated by Website Editor & Webmaster: Michael R. Reilly (Mike)